top of page

What Makes A Man? - Joshua Kim

Joshua Kim was born to South Korean parents in Los Angeles, California. Having begun an interest in design working at iKram in Chicago he is currently studying MA Fashion: Womenswear at London’s Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design.

Was there ever any pressure to conform to a typical “Asian” style?

There was a big Asian influence growing up, a big South Korean influence. I feel like ever since I moved out to here, to London, ever since that happened things have westernised a bit more. I mean obviously I’ve been influenced by London culture but when I go back home to LA, or even just speak to my family over face time for example, I feel as though my family are embracing American and European style.

Are there any men’s style taboos that you’ve noticed or experienced?

In Asia even straight guys wear makeup. I thought it was a rumour but when I interned there I realised that they actually do. It’s a part of grooming. It not for beauty it’s for grooming. I’ve seen a lot more straight guys using makeup – highlighting, contouring. And there’s now a lot of tutorials for that. Obviously the natural look is the aim, as it is for women. Makeup has to look natural. Very groomed, very flawless. Polished and perfect. In a way, a lot of Asian culture is similar to that of the 1960s in the west. But in context of social media and modern life today. Photo editing apps are very popular. They even change the shape of your eyes and your jaw to make you ‘perfect’.

Do you think that there’s more pressure on guys on the way that they should look?

I think there’s a different standard for guys, especially from a woman’s perspective. I’m generalising but a lot of women expect guys to look a certain way but at the same time they get turned off when they care too much about the way they look. You have to be on a diet, into fitness. Basically in Korea, and even LA, it’s all about being small and big in the right places. Proportion is key. More and more though LA is changing to an edgier aesthetic so things are definitely changing.

In terms of fashion, we’ve seen a lack of interest in print publications in East Asia? Do you think this is the case?

In terms of mass culture, I think everyone is just on Instagram, I don’t even know if they’re looking at online magazines. People interested in the arts still look to print magazines though - Purple, Nylon… Dressing myself I dress to be comfortable because I’m creating evening gown style womenswear it’s a lot of physical movement that I have to work with. I don’t look at or wear designer clothes. So I’m always in trainers, always sportswear. I don’t really follow Seoul fashion either. But I do look at Korean celebrities because I can’t look at western white celebrities and have that as a goal. I can’t model myself after them. You have to look at someone somewhat relatable and think what can I do to look like that – I mean I haven’t done any surgery… yet. I’m stuck in the middle though because I’m also an Angeleno, I want to tan too. But in Asia it’s all about being pale. Pale, pale, pale. I even fake tan. I do, that’s on record. American culture is all about leisure. If you have leisure time it means you have money and the tan from being able to relax outside.

Why do you think Asia has such a strong relationship with the notion of paleness in terms of beauty?

Pale skin makes you look more youthful. When you tan your features become more defined. You look a little slimmer, a little older. Plastic surgery is also big in Seoul and Los Angeles. Korea now does more plastic surgery than anywhere else in the world.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page